Monday, January 18, 2010

Because wandering around a theme park in business attire is always an adventure...

So. First day in the parks: we went to Epcot. I actually took pictures of this whole experience. Yay me! Haha. But sadly, all of you will have to wait to actually see them because I'm still laptopless. Boo sauce! But anyway, Epcot was really fun and I think it was a great place to start. The Misson: Space ride is amazing, it really feels like you're in a rocket launching into space. But as a warning the ride warns you about eighty gazillion times about not riding it if you have claustrophobia or easily get motion sickness. From personal experience, it's really small inside, and I wouldn't want to be in there, if anyone was going to get all pukey and stuff. Go figure. Also in Epcot there's a Finding Nemo ride that's really cute and fun. I want to go on it again, but we all know it's not really fun to rides alone.

Then that night we went to Disney's Hollywood Studios and watched the show Fantasmic. First of all, Disney's Hollywood Studios is designed after the golden age of Hollywood, so it's right up my alley. Haha. But the show was really cool, it has clips of Disney movies projected onto waterfalls and fireworks(who doesn't like fireworks?!)! They even light water on fire! Twice. So there you readers go: an example of some Disney magic for you. The other crazy thing about this show, is the fact that people start lining up for it an hour and a half before it even starts. We were in line for about forty-five minutes, but it was totally worth it. What wasn't worth it though, was the bus ride back. All of my apartment-mates and I made it to the bus stop before a lot of other people, but those people got to ride the bus before us. Why? Because they all were basically rude, and crowded around the door of the bus while the rest of us watched, because we knew that all of us wouldn't fit. Yay. So what it comes down to is, if you want to get on the first "cast member" bus after a park closes, you need to be cutthroat. Otherwise you end up waiting for an hour and hearing about rude people before the next bus comes.

So the next day, it was time for another orientation. Whoo! This time it was to the actual park I am working at (Disney Hollywood Studios). Once again all of us had to be dressed in our business attire(whoo) and at the bus stop at 6:45 in the morning, for something that starts at 8:00(yay Disney buses). So after we all got red ribbons to attach to our nametags that say, "Earning my ears" it was time for another tour. At the beginning of the tour it was really great to watch "guests" faces as all these college-aged kids walk through a gate before the park opens. Most of them seemed almost angry at this fact. But whatever. They didn't have to go on a two and a half hour tour of the park. Now the tour wouldn't have been so bad, but I was in business clothes and heels. It definitely wasn't the most comfortable experience of my life. Go figure! So because our tour was so long(I think our tour guide liked to talk a little too much) we were rewarded with - a seven minute lunch!

Which brings me to my next point: what I have nicknamed the Disney Diet. It seems whenever you have to go to these orientation style events here, they give you fifteen(or less) minute breaks to try and scrounge up food from vending machines, or wherever you can find it. So living off of granola bars and such is always fun, and then you throw in the fact that you're constantly walking. Walking = exercise and Lack of food/time to eat food = Starvation/Possible portion control and when you combine these two items you get the glorious Disney Diet. Huzzah!

So. Next item on the list...hm. The next excursion we all went on was to Downtown Disney. It's basically like a strip mall, but better. The part that weirded me out about it was the fact that you could get a drink from the pub, and then walk around with it. It just seemed so strange to me to be able to walk into stores with an alcoholic beverage and look at stuff. I don't know. I basically just wanted to share that tidbit with all of you.

My first day of training was...painful. Haha. It was some online courses and then another tour(which was really cool actually). The items that made it painful, were the people that were on it. First of all, there was the woman that asked, "Are there Giraffes at the Animal Kingdom park?" It's an African savanna themed place in Disney so of course there are going to be freaking Giraffes there!!! I've never been here before and I could tell you that. GRRR! But it wouldn't have been so bad, except for the fact that she continued to ask similar questions throughout the day. Then we had the woman who sounded similar to Lisa Simpson, but a little more squeaky, with a Minnesota accent, and who wouldn't shut her mouth. Every SINGLE room we went in she would find something to squeal and shout about, and once she was done with that she'd just go back to her conversation. I was about to slam my head into something just because I didn't know how much more I could take of those two people. So I was very relieved to know that I had about four days away from these two "fantastic" people before our next encounter: Tomorrow.

Hey! We're almost up to date! Last night we all went to the Magic Kingdom (for the first time!). It was so pretty!! We rode the ferryboat over to the entrance gate while the fireworks show was going(potential for a romantic moment, if anyone was wondering), and I have to say it was so pretty! They have fireworks that make a heart shape! How does that work?! Damn you Disney magic and your secrets. Also, I have to say, that I enjoy the fact that you could catch a fireworks show about every night if you wanted to. It's really fun, and makes it seem like it's Fourth of July all the time. Haha. So anyway, Magic Kingdom was fun. There are a lot of classic rides in there as well as the castle, that has lights that change at night. Also, I actually took pictures of this event as well, but as previously stated, still no laptop.

Then today, I wandered around Hollywood Studios and Epcot by myself, looking for stuff to send to people and just enjoying the nice weather. :) I went to the world showcase(it has 20 different countries - a sparknotes of the globe perhaps?) and enjoyed some chocolate mousse from the French bakery(Yum!).

So. I think that's all of the interesting/comical moments. Sorry if it seemed really random, but my mind was going in so many different directions it was hard to focus. Tomorrow is more training, a good home cooked meal, and a possible game night with the apartment-mates. Things are going well here, and I am happy, I just miss my people. Haha.

No comments:

Post a Comment